

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer

CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229 e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 335-1094 • (925) 335-1031 FAX

## **MEMBERS**

Donald A. Blubaugh
Public Member
Federal Glover
County Member
Michael R. McGill

Special District Member

Mary N. Piepho
County Member
Rob Schroder
City Member
Igor Skaredoff
Special District Member

Don Tatzin City Member

## **ALTERNATE MEMBERS**

Candace Andersen
County Member
Sharon Burke
Public Member
Tom Butt
City Member
Stanley Caldwell
Special District Member

May 11, 2016 Agenda Item 2

May 11, 2016 (Agenda)

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

## **Appointment of LAFCO Public Members**

Dear Members of the Commission:

The authority and procedures for appointing members of the Commission are set forth in the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH Act). All terms of office on LAFCO are four years, expiring on the first Monday in May, unless otherwise specified.

In December, the Commission received a report regarding Commissioner terms and the process for filling vacancies. In May 2015, the terms of five Commissioners expire: County member Candace Andersen, City member Don Tatzin, Special District member Mike McGill, and Public members Don Blubaugh and Sharon Burke. A status of the various appointments is provided below.

- County member In January 2016, the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors re-appointed Commissioner Andersen.
- City member On April 7<sup>th</sup>, the City Selection Committee re-appointed Commissioner Tatzin.
- Special District member A meeting of the Independent Special District Selection Committee (ISDSC) was scheduled for April 18<sup>th</sup> to re-appoint Commissioner McGill, who is unopposed. Due to lack of a quorum, the ISDSC was unable to convene its meeting and hold the election. Commissioner McGill will continue to serve. LAFCO staff is completing the election by mail.
- Public members (regular and alternate) are appointed by the other members of the commission subject to the affirmative vote of at least one of the members selected by each of the other appointing authorities (i.e., city, county, special district). In December, the Commission discussed options for appointing the public members, including conducting a formal recruitment or reappointing the current public members pursuant to the Commission's policy. Both public members expressed interest in continuing to serve on Contra Costa LAFCO; and the Commission expressed interest in re-appointing the current public members.

**RECOMMENDATION** – Reappoint the current Public member and Alternate Public member. Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER